280ZX Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

engine break in

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2010, 04:39 PM

engine break in

I just got my engine rebuilt on my 280zxt, and I need to break it in. The problem is, the only piece of exuast that I have is the down pipe off the turbo. Would it be best to tow it to a shop and get the exuast done before I break it in, or can I do it after? Sorry if this is a stupid question.
Old 02-09-2010, 04:46 PM
The Emblem Thief y0!

Eh, I'm no master mechanic. But i'd do the engine break in with the conditions i'd be running the car at when its 100%.

But thats just me.
Old 02-09-2010, 04:54 PM
The Good Twin

The only difference "no exhaust system" will make, is your neighbors will be pissed.

I drove my L28ET probably 20 miles w/ just the downpipe before I took it in to get an exhaust system installed.

As for your break in procedures... on the first start, let it warm up by idling & easy rev'ving. Check all fluids at running temp. Then drive like a grandma for 500 miles, change the oil, drive like a grandma for another 500 miles, then at about 1500 miles change the oil again & this time use synthetic (for the first two oil changes run conventional).
Old 02-09-2010, 05:30 PM
Ruff Ryder

Also, prime the oil system, before cranking it over.
Old 02-09-2010, 06:14 PM

It wont harm the turbo, and theres enough back presure.

Last edited by zordietrying; 02-09-2010 at 06:16 PM.
Old 02-09-2010, 06:17 PM
w0rld's l0ngest m0t0rswap

Originally Posted by hoov100
Also, prime the oil system, before cranking it over.
yeah if it starts to screetch like nails on a chalkboard and then "seizes" then that means you need to prime it...trust me its a terrible terrible sound
Old 02-09-2010, 07:40 PM
Ruff Ryder