280ZX Performance / Technical Discussions related to Turbo charging, Supercharging, Engine, ECU, exhaust, and etc. performance enhancements.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is hooked to the distributor?

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2005, 05:27 AM
More Than Meets The Eye

What is hooked to the distributor?

Hey all you guys. I need to know what all hooks to the distributors vaccum advance. Like what wires and where they go. My books don't seem to tell me. If anybody could give me some info on this I would appreciate it. I think maybe I am missing a wire that needs to plug onto the vaccum advance?? Not sure anyway let me know, about it some more. I am still learning every day. And hopefully I will be runnning my Z real soon on the road. All depends on if I can get power back to him, and stop the stuttering on revving and acceleration!

The crazy thing is if I just let him idle, he runs pretty smooth, he starts stuttering when I rev him. Verry confusing! Also I am hoping I don't need a valve job or headwork. I don't think I do, because he is running great on idle!
Old 06-15-2005, 12:34 PM

I'm not sure, but I think that is just a ground wire for the distributor. I don't have that wire either though and my car runs fine. Or atleast it did on my old distributor when the advances actually worked. That wire doesn't control anything though, the advances work off vacuum and centifugal force. Nothing electric. The only wires you need to worry about are the ones going to your ignition module.

For your stuttering problem, check and make sure you're firing STRONG on all 6 cylinders. Check the air gap in your distributor. It can run fine at low rpms like at idle, but when you raise the rpm's if the gap is too big the spark won't have time to collapse.
Old 06-15-2005, 12:47 PM
More Than Meets The Eye