280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

bizarre(to me) crankcase ventilation issue

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 05:14 PM

bizarre(to me) crankcase ventilation issue

My 1st z project car & a total noob to the nissan engine. I now have an 81 280zx n/a with 77m miles. Car needs TLC but is in decent shape overall & running wise. When I did an oil change, I went to start the car to circulate the oil to make sure that levels were fine & the car wouldn't start! Finially after repeated cranking & putting the pedal to the floor did it start & run VERY poorly as long as I kept playing with the throttle. Long story short, my oil cap was still off & when I reinstalled it the car ran fine. I've never had anything like this before. If you take the cap off while running she will drop R's big time spit, sputter & die.
Next week I was checking the PCV valve. I pulled the hose off while running to check the vacuum & the very same thing happened. I have never had any other car do this & even the factory manual states to check the PCV this way.
I'm totally baffled on this one, it almost acts like a TPS but what would crankcase vacuum have to do with it? I do have other issues (the cold start valve isn't receiving signal & I'm consuming alot of oil) but I don't see see any correlation to this particular problem.
I turn it over to the pros, Bob
Old 07-23-2008, 11:28 PM
eff good grammar

i can see PCV doing it as i have seen it happen on alot of cars. but i have never figured out the oil cap thing, mine does the same thing, it doesent die but at idle it drops really low. if your car is dieing with it off you might check out your idle speed, sounds like its a little low.
Old 07-24-2008, 12:32 AM
NisTuner