280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

Can I do this?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2012, 04:17 PM

Smile Can I do this?

Hello, this is my first time posting on the forum. I recently purchased a 1982 Datsun 280zx and am loving it. Heres my question, It is a non turbo version, and it currently a 3 speed automatic. I would like to know if I could turn it into a turbo version and install a digital dash and install a 5 speed.

Can I put a turbo in? and is there anything i need to do? I assume its not going to be just a drop in routine; does anyone know how much it would cost.
Datsun Nissan Z 240Z 260Z 280Z 280ZX Turbo Turbocharger w/ Wastegate *Rebuilt* | eBay

That is the link i think i will purchase a turbo from.

And I would love a digital dash, is there anything i would need to change? sensors? etc.

I currently have a 5 speed but am in the process if having it rebuilt.

Any advice would be appreciated thanks in advance!
Old 08-18-2012, 06:31 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!

Originally Posted by yeahididthat
I would like to know if I could turn it into a turbo version and install a digital dash and install a 5 speed.
Yes, it can be done, and is done all the time (this is probably the most common question on the Z car forums). It's done so often that many people have made write-ups and how-to threads.
Old 08-20-2012, 12:06 AM

It is possible for a turbo setup, but u cant forget the other essentials it needs to run a turbo, such as intercooler, different exhaust manifold and down pipe, and from automatic to standard is going to be pricey and bit of work to, not sure the price range, it can very what u want, im new here to, but from what now it can be done but with a lot money and time. I own a 1983 280zx 5 speed manual non-turbo, i am looking to put a turbo soon in the future, but the transmission change, im glad mine is a standard, but good luck dude, i hope it all turns out really well.
Old 08-20-2012, 08:23 PM