280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

cutting out at 100kmph

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2013, 09:53 PM

cutting out at 100kmph

Hi guys newbie here down in australia , just wanting to pick the impressive brains on this board. been a long time lurker of the board, first time poster!

I have a 82 280zx which runs great most of the time but there is a problem when i hit close to 100kmph and over 3000rpm. heres the situation,

If i rev hard and fast i can get up to 100 and over with no problems
If cruise up to 100 in a normal gradual way (especially when engine is hot) it splutters and cuts out sometimes for a few seconds, i have to ease off throttle, this also happens at lower speeds revving up over 3000 when engine is warm. basically i can never sit up at 100kmph on the motorway.

I have seen AFM mentioned often, just keen to see if you guys have any tips for me.

thanks in advance
Old 03-22-2013, 10:23 PM

Check your throttle position sensor. I once power washed my engine compartment before a car show. Pulled out and the car acted exactly how you presented your problem. Could not rev past 3 grand or go above 45 MPH lol as for our readouts here in the states. Hope that helps. May just need cleaned?
Old 03-22-2013, 11:11 PM
Primer Grey FTW!

+1 on the tps
Old 03-23-2013, 05:08 AM

CHTS as well. Clean all connections under the hood and the 3 going to the ECU
Old 03-23-2013, 09:37 AM
Grumpy & Helpful

zded has good advice. Get your hands on some Deoxit by CAIG. do a google. might find it at a place that services music amps. good cleaner. I was told by someone when I was in Melbourne you guys never got the ZX. ???
Old 03-23-2013, 12:43 PM

Radioshack has Deoxit. CRC makes an awesome electrical cleaner as well.
Old 03-24-2013, 01:15 AM

lesnocker we actually did give it a bit of a power wash before we got it registered, so we might have an identical problem

we definitely got the zx over here in oz rogerz, still a few knocking around