280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

Engine help needed! - runs then dies/loss of power

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2006, 11:42 AM
I'm a Registered User!

Question Engine help needed! - runs then dies/loss of power

Hey, so this is my first time to this website and I think this place is awesome, I definately wish I had found this place earlier with past troubleshooting, but onto today's (well this past week haha) problem...

The car is a 1983 280ZX (non - turbo)
When the car is first started (cold) it seems to run fine - idles and revs up when you add gas like it should. But after it gets warmed up, about a minute or alittle more later, when you add gas it kind of bogs down instead of reving up like it did when it was first started. It also sounds like it misfires a bit when it is full throttle and it is struggling. When you let off the gas it goes back to idling just fine.

To try to fix this problem I have:
replaced the vacuum hoses (since they have never been replaced)
to the best of my knowledge, made sure the EGR control valve, the PCV valve, both work properly
Checked the timing - it's correct
Cleaned electrical connections (like the distributor and thermal switch, you know the top most one with the fuel injector type connection and other misc. electrical connections)
I've disconnected the water temperature switch that feeds the distributor and that didn't change anything

So... I'm kind of at a loss now, Any ideas or suggestions?
Old 03-25-2006, 12:00 PM
Doesn't post much...

Welcome to ZDriver!

Have you tried replacing the fuel filter yet...?

Rod.
Old 03-25-2006, 12:13 PM
I'm a Registered User!

No I haven't replaced that yet, what I did in the very beginning was i unhooked the downstream hose and turned the car on to where it would prime the system and it was spraying out just fine so I guessed that it was fine but I'm gonna go do that right after this post just so it's done