280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

How much cam will the stock ZX setup support?

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2007, 09:29 PM

How much cam will the stock ZX setup support?

I'm wanting to overhaul the L28 in my '82 ZX & add some more power as well to include:

Decent header & 2.5" exhaust, some portwork on the head, cold air intake, 60mm throttlebody, upgraded ignition, and a better cam (with springs & lash pads).

My stock EFI setup is in pretty decent shape, but I'm wondering how much the ECU will be able to support with stock injectors & mafs? I'm new to L-series engines, so I don't know what would be best. Would it be worth considering upgrading to a ZXT ECU/dizzy/harness/intake/injectors on a built NA?

Last edited by Matt K; 03-30-2007 at 03:09 PM.
Old 03-29-2007, 09:45 PM
The Good Twin

I suggest reading some books.

http://www.thezstore.com/page/TZS/PROD/TB/70-1043

http://www.thezstore.com/page/TZS/PROD/TB/70-1050

http://www.thezstore.com/page/TZS/PROD/TB/70-1041

and tons of other books about engine modifying. Long story short... do research.
Old 03-29-2007, 10:05 PM

Nismo is right as rain on this one. It's all about knowledge with these engines, and the more knowledgeable you are, the better off you'll be. Read! Chiltons/FSM.

Carl

PS: Use the search engine when in doubt!! And we're always here to help!!

Last edited by Carl's Z; 03-29-2007 at 10:08 PM.
Old 03-30-2007, 05:46 AM

I used the search engine, as there's nothing DEFINITIVE listed here regarding this, I wanted YOUR experience. Why should I spend over $200 on these books when you guys have already read them & know what's good & not good? It's a waste of money & time to me when all I need is someone knowledgeable to chime in here...Not trying to sound like a jerk, but if I wanted advise on what books to purchase, I would have asked that. I'm sure none of those books has EVERY currently available cam choice out there listed & the pros & cons/required supporting equipment.