280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

My first Car and its a Z!!!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2009, 06:22 AM
ZX2802

My first Car and its a Z!!!!!!!!!!

Hey guys!
I'm 20 years old and just got my first ever car. 280zx non turbo with a manual steering.
The thing is I am an accounting student and got no idea how anything inside a bonnet works. But I got a passion to learn and been watchin v8 and f1 since I was 10. Anyway,

This car I got.
The coolant tank is empty. there is some in the radiator, so can i jus get somethin off the store and fill it in?.
the viper washer tank has water but will not eject water to the windscreen when I need it.
The headlights are dim, but i guess its coz the dome is hazy.
The car runs on gas. its converted. everything is fine. I managed 70 on the first gear just to see what power i get with gas on. [imagine petrol and nicely maintained engine! WOW!]. the thing is that the when I start the car when its cold it wont idle. I rev it up for some time or drive for about a couple of km's and then its fine.
The manual steering is bloody tight. I manage to drive it, but if I can get it loose that'll save a lotta effort.

Thats all I could find for nw. Jus been 2 days. Bloody awsome car. I could have got anythin else, oh but this has somehow captured me since i was a kid.
Thanks guys.
Old 03-17-2009, 06:36 AM
Pr0n Addict

50/50 antifreeze/water mix for the radiator in mild climates. if you mix it yourself, you want to use distilled water.

clean the headlight covers the best that you can. you may need to replace them if you still don't get enough light.
Old 03-17-2009, 07:25 AM
The Good Twin

Welcome to ZDriver!!!

Sounds like you are from Europe / Australia? Here's a thread on dim headlights: https://www.zdriver.com/forums/240z-280zxt-s30-s130-tech-tips-275/dim-headlights-not-noh-moh-22117/
Old 03-17-2009, 11:22 AM
Über User