280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

mysterious cooling problem with 79 280zx

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2010, 04:26 PM

mysterious cooling problem with 79 280zx

First off I'd like to say this is my first time posting here and would really appreciate any help that can be offered. My Datsun has had ongoing cooling problems for over a year now and I am finally left without a clue as to what I should do, so here it goes.

My Datsun is a 79 non turbo 2+2 with an automatic transmission and I am only the second owner. The first owner replaced the radiator about 2 years ago before I bought it. When she did she mixed different coolants and created a muddy concoction in the cooling system.

It worked when I first bought it and I had some fun rebuilding the entire suspension, but I have since had ongoing cooling problems.

First it got a small leak in an auxiliary line so I replaced it, only to have the line going to the heater core through the fire wall bust and so I replaced that.

Then it started overheating immediately after it warmed up, so I replaced the thermostat, that didn't work, so I replaced the radiator cap.

Then that didn't work I realized the clutch fan wasn't working, so I replaced that.

After that, coolant would shoot out of the reservoir cap and deplete the radiator, so I did a few tests.

I did a pressure test to find that there was indeed a leak. I took the spark plugs out and inspected them and they were fine. There was no water coming out of the spark plug holes when I turned the engine over so I assumed it wasn't the head gasket.

With that done I assumed since I didn't see a leak that it was the water pump. So I replaced that and since I suspected a block in the radiator from the sludge of mixed radiator fluids, I replace the radiator too.