280ZX (S130) Forums Dedicated to 79-83 ZCars

In need of some help

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 09:32 PM

In need of some help

This is my first time doing this so be gentle.

I just got my hands on a 79 280zx, but I have been having a lot of white smoke once the engine gets to normal temp. I am aware that chances are I either have a blown head gasket, or a crack somewhere in the head.

My questions are these...

What would be the best to do if I have a crack in the head? Replace only the head? Find another L28E? Or go with some kind of engine swap?

If its just a blown head gasket I am going to simply replace the gaskets and run with it.

Any advice would be great. Thanks
Old 10-20-2009, 09:59 PM
This facepalm's for you!

If the head is warped you can have it decked (shave it down so its strait) or just pick up a new head.
Theres plenty of em around for parts, Iv got at least 4-5 sitting in my shed for various nissan/Z motors
Old 10-22-2009, 06:47 PM

Thanks for the info; however, I would like to know what I should do if the head is cracked, not warped.
Old 10-22-2009, 07:18 PM
The Good Twin

Take it to a trusted machine shop and have them check it out. Most will check it for free to $20.

If it's cracked, and depending where, you could have it welded & re-surfaced / ground. A cracked aluminum L-Series head is pretty rare though.

Please explain when, where, and how this happened, so we can get a better idea if it really is a head issue.

Have you checked all the spark plugs? One or more "steam cleaned" tips will be a dead give away. Also coolant in the oil (milky brown oil) or oil in the coolant are classic signs. Bubbles in the coolant when you remove the radiator cap, disappearing coolant, overheating, etc....

Please tell more about what is going on.
Old 10-22-2009, 09:20 PM

Originally Posted by NismoPick