300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

New here.

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2008, 02:25 PM

New here.

Hey guys. I've just bought a 1984 300zx turbo w/auto tranny and I'm looking to swap out the transmission for a manual (cause it rocks!). http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...MEWN:IT&ih=015

I've been doing research online and have found a couple of other cars that use the Jatco 4N71B Auto tranny - the same tranny used on the 1987 rx7. I then found this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...MEBI:IT&ih=014

This is probably a stupid question, but will the manual tranny from a the rx7 work on a 84 300zx turbo since they both use the same auto tranny? Are the ratios about the same?

Thanks and don't flame me too much - I'm new to transmissions so bear with me.
Old 05-24-2008, 09:53 AM
The Good Twin

Originally Posted by Neilbey
This is probably a stupid question, but will the manual tranny from a the rx7 work on a 84 300zx turbo since they both use the same auto tranny? Are the ratios about the same?
Welcome to ZDriver!

And it's not likely that an RX7 tranny will fit a Z31 block... they are completely different engines & I'm sure they have different bell housings. Why not find a Z31 5 speed tranny and save yourself A LOT of headaches?
Old 05-24-2008, 07:31 PM
Distinquished Guest

Talking Welcome...

What you're proposing is possible, but, I can't say, one way or the other.

It's possible because the Borg-Warner T-5 was factory installed in the '84-'86 turbo z31s, and, the Borg-Warner T-5 was Ford's choice for the Rustangs of that era, and, Ford owns Mazda. Still you'd have to have the correct bell housing to marry the transmission to the engine.

It'd be a lot less hassle, and risk, to just do the switch using bone-yard parts off scrapped out z31s. You're gonna' need a lot of z31 specific parts anyway to accomplish the conversion.

Good luck. Keep us updated on the progress.
Old 05-24-2008, 08:04 PM
Über User