300ZX (Z31) Forums Dedicated to 84-89 ZCars otherwize known as the Z31's

Smell, that smelly smell; that smells.

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2024, 05:58 PM

Exclamation Smell, that smelly smell; that smells.

Hello, I'm new to this whole forum thing so try and take it easy on me. I've skimmed the threads a bit, and searched the old google as well on this current topic.

To put it simply, I don't know how to exactly describe this smell that I'm getting a whiff of, its only now just caused me some concern after seeing some precious Z31's go up in flames on instagram. It doesn't penetrate the cabin, it's only when I pop the hood and get in the engine bay that I get a whiff of it. It permeates through the entire engine bay and is most prominent after driving the car when its gotten nice and hot. It smells like nothing I'm familiar with other than a description I will soon give towards the end of this post. After a quick inspection, no signs of fuel leak, as I feel that would overpower anything and make me recoil, and I've already replaced all soft fuel lines. It couldn't be exhaust as it seems to stick around long after the car is shut off. Maybe oil or coolant? But the only signs of a oil leak large enough to cause this smell are from the rear main that I've been neglecting. What about coolant? No signs of pooling, staining, or steam after driving. Only signs of a leak topside are a cracked and weeping "soft" line from the power steering reservoir. What about the serp. belts? Good shape recently replaced and not throwing rubber. My tires are in good shape, no rubbing or scrubbing and I'm not lowered, in fact I'm technically raised a bit. Also no signs of excess brakes dust/wear as far as I'm aware.

With that said, I'll try my best describing it now. It smells hot, like hot rubber or plastic, not burnt, like an old Mercedes on a hot day type rubber almost.

Am I over thinking this? Anybody else can attest to this smell? or should I invest in a fire extinguisher?